License Holder
 Managing Director
 Editor-in-chief
 Int'l & National Desk

Economy Desk
 Sports Desk
 Iranica Desk
 Arts & Culture Desk

Language Editor

Islamic Republic News Agency (IRNA) Ali Kakadezfuli Mostafa Shirmohammadi Javad Mohammad Ali, Zohreh Qanadi, Ebrahim Beheshti, Amir Mollaee Mozaffari Reza Abesh Ahmadlou, Sadeq Dehqan Amirhadi Arsalanpour Leila Imeni Hamideh Hosseini Ali Mehran Editorial Dept. Tel
Address
ICPI Publisher
Advertising Dept. Tel/Email
Website
Email
Printing House

+98 21 84711171 208, Khorramshahr Ave., Tehran, Iran +98 21 88548892-5 +98 21 88500601/irandaily@iranagahiha.com www.irandaily.ir/newspaper.irandaily.ir irandaily@icpi.ir Iran Cultural & Press Institute



6/260757 9000444 > irandaily.ir | newspaper.irandaily.ir | 🔊 IranDailyWeb

Vol. 7515 • Monday, February 26, 2024 • 100,000 rials • 8 pages

## Iran's March 1 Elections:

## Parliament, Assembly of Experts await historic decisions

Iran is gearing up for two significant elections on March 1: the 12th parliamentary and the 6th Assembly of Experts elections. With the candidate list now finalized and preparations in progress, the country is eagerly anticipating these upcoming elections.



Under the Iranian Constitution, candidates who file their nominations are vetted by the Constitutional Council before they make it to the final list.

The Constitutional Council is the 12-member oversight body, with six of its members being Islamic jurists, directly appointed by the Leader, and six members being nonclerical jurists.



Qualification process The first election for the Assembly of Experts took place on December 10, 1982, with approximately 18 million voters participating.

Seventy-five candidates were elected, while the remaining candidates went to a second round of voting.

The assembly commenced its activities on August 15, 1983.

In the 2020 parliamentary elections, out of roughly 14,000 people who registered to run for Parliament, more than 6,500 names were rejected by the Constitutional Council.

The last election was swept by the conservatives, with reformists getting only 20 seats.

Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf was elected as the speaker.

**Elections in** 

past years

The vote was overshadowed by the disqualification of some reformist candidates as well as the lowest turnout in the country's history, 42.4%, which was attributed to the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic in Iran.

Reformists received 6.9% of the vote, a decrease from 41.7% in 2016.

On the other hand, conservatives got a whopping 76.2% vote share, up from 28.6% in 2016.

The 2020 election was held in the backdrop of the anti-West wave in the country following the assassination of Iran's top military commander Qassem Soleimani in a US airstrike in Baghdad on January 3, 2020.